//-->
City-Hinterland-Migration in North Rhine-Westphalia
Researcher Prof. Dr. M. Wagner
Project Description The topic of the project are the dimensions, the conditions and the consequences of the city-hinterland-migration in North Rhine-Westphalia. These migrations are relevant especially for city planning and for political decisions: In the process of suburbanisation, the hinterland of the cities grows and its population density rises, while the inner cities shrink. As a consequence, land consumption increases as well as the sealing of natural grounds and motorised individual transport, which all leads to increased pollution. From a town planner’s view, there also arises the problem of the desolation of the inner cities. The migration of business enterprises causes a loss of tax income affecting local policy.

The city-hinterland-migrations in North Rhine-Westphalia will be analysed with the help of official data and a meta analysis of the existing migration studies. A thesis titled "City-Hinterland-Migration in North Rhine-Westphalia. A Meta Analysis" has already been done at the Research Institute for Sociology of the University of Cologne. In this thesis, numerous migration motive studies performed in North Rhine- Westphalia have been archived and statistically processed. Moreover, there exists an almost complete collection of publications on the results of these migration analyses. We have 37 migration studies for 24 cities. We have access to the original data of 20 migration studies and to the corresponding publications of the empirical findings of the other 17 studies.

The statistical information system of the statistical office in North Rhine-Westphalia also provides data on migration structures that are interesting for our project. The data are divided into categories of age (under 18, 18-25, 25-30, 30-50, 50-65 and more than 65 years of age) and of gender and nationality. Relevant for our project is the number of people moving from a city to the hinterland, and - for comparing analyses - the number of people moving from the hinterland to the city. A part of the data covers the years from 1975 until 2004.
Funding The Centre for Empirical Economic and Social Research is helping in data collection and analysis.
Publications link

Stadt-Umland-Wanderungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen
Personen Prof. Dr. Michael Wagner
Projektbeschreibung Thema sind Ausmaß, Bedingungen sowie Folgen der Stadt-Umland-Wanderungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Diese Wanderungen sind besonders bedeutsam für stadtplanerische und politische Belange: Im Zuge der Suburbanisierung wird das Umland von Städten ausgeweitet und verdichtet, während die Kernstädte dem Prozess der „Schrumpfung“ unterliegen. Der daraus resultierende Flächenverbrauch und die damit einhergehende Flächenversieglung führen genauso wie der zunehmende motorisierte Individualverkehr zu ökologischen Belastungen. Aus stadtplanerischer Sicht ergibt sich ferner die so genannte „Verödung der Innenstädte“, die auch hinsichtlich des Verlustes von Steuereinnahmen durch die Abwanderung von kommunalpolitischem Interesse ist.

Die Stadt-Umland-Wanderungen in NRW sollen mittels der amtlichen Wanderungsstatistik und einer Meta-Analyse vorhandener Wanderungsstudien analysiert werden. Am Forschungsinstitut für Soziologie der Universität zu Köln ist bereits eine Magisterarbeit zum Thema: „Stadt-Umland-Wanderungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Eine Meta-Analyse“ angefertigt worden. Im Rahmen dieser Arbeit wurden zahlreiche Datensätze von Wanderungsmotivstudien in NRW im Forschungsinstitut für Soziologie archiviert und statistisch aufbereitet. Ferner gibt es eine nahezu vollständige Sammlung von Publikationen über die Befunde dieser Wanderungsuntersuchungen. So liegen insgesamt 37 Wanderungsstudien über 24 Städte vor. Für 20 Wanderungsstudien stehen uns die Originaldaten zur Verfügung und für 17 Studien die entsprechenden Publikationen der empirischen Befunde.

Außerdem sind für das geplante Forschungsprojekt Daten des Landesamtes für Datenverarbeitung und Statistik Nordrhein-Westfalen (LDS NRW) zu Wanderungsstrukturen interessant. Die Daten sind zum einen aufgeschlüsselt nach Alterskategorien (unter 18 Jahre, 18-25 Jahre, 25-30 Jahre, 30-50 Jahre, 50-65 Jahre und älter als 65 Jahre) und zum anderen nach den Merkmalen Geschlecht und deutsche Staatszugehörigkeit. Bedeutsam sind insbesondere die Fortzüge aus einer Stadt in ihr Umland und für vergleichende Analysen die zu verzeichnenden Zuzüge einer Stadt aus ihrem Umland. Ein Teil dieser Daten umfasst den Zeitraum von 1975 bis 2004.
Finanzierung Das Zentrum für Empirische Wirtschafts- und Sozialforschung unterstützt die Datenerhebung und -auswertung.
Veröffentlichungen link