Party strategies in oligopolistic issue markets - the development of party manifestos in Western and Eastern Europe
Researcher Univ.-Prof. Dr. André Kaiser, Dipl.-Volkswirt Simon Franzmann
Project Description In the ongoing debate over the character of party competition, two theories often go head to head: on the one hand confrontative theory, closely related to Anthony Downs’ conception of the economic theory of democracy (1957), which acts on the assumption of a clearly specifiable dimensionality of policy space. On the other hand salience theory (Budge/Farlie 1983), which focuses on a party’s choice of core issues and their presentation in the election campaign. Both approaches require that party manifestos be analysed in order to arrive at a consistent theoretical formulation and robust empirical tests. A comprehensive data set from the Comparative Manifestos Project (CMP), in which the election programmes for all OECD countries since WWII are coded in 56 categories is available for this purpose (Budge et al. 2001). This data set contains some problems, however, which this project’s researchers corrected by reanalysing the data (Franzmann/Kaiser 2006). The reanalysed left-right-values quickly prompted strong interest in the scientific community and raised the level of the original CMP-values’ external validity.

An updated version of the CMP data set in 2006 (Klingemann et al. 2006) will contain not only OECD party systems, but also party systems in Middle and Eastern European transformation countries. In this current project we will reanalyse the updated CMP data set using methods developed by Franzmann/Kaiser and complement the Central and Eastern European party systems.

Next, we will determine the parties’ core issues and programmatic heterogeneity for each country, according to salience theory. Eventually, a pilot study will reveal how the public perceives core issues and heterogeneity as well as how these are incorporated in the election campaign’s agenda. Our ultimate goal is to improve election forecasts.
Funding The project will receive start-up financing from the Centre for Empirical Economic and Social Research while a proposal for third party funding is being drawn up.
Data
  • Budge, Ian et al.(eds.) 2001: Mapping Policy Preferences. Estimates for Parties, Electors, and Governments 1945-1998, Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Franzmann, Simon/Kaiser, André 2006: Locating Political Parties in Policy Space. A Reanalysis of Party Manifesto Data, Party Politics 12: 163-188.
  • Klingemann, Hans-Dieter et. al (eds.) 2006: Mapping Policy Preferences II: Comparing 24 OECD and 24 CEE Countries, 1990-2003, Oxford: Oxford University Press
Methods Quantitative textual analysis
References
  • Budge, Ian et al.(eds.) 2001: Mapping Policy Preferences. Estimates for Parties, Electors, and Governments 1945-1998, Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Budge, Ian/Farlie, Dennis 1983: Explaining and Predicting Elections. Issue Effects and Party Strategies in Twenty-Three Democracies, London: Allen & Unwin.
  • Downs, Anthony 1957: An Economic Theory of Democracy, New York: Harper.
  • Franzmann, Simon/Kaiser, André 2006: Locating Political Parties in Policy Space. A Reanalysis of Party Manifesto Data, Party Politics 12: 163-188.
  • Klingemann, Hans-Dieter et. al (eds.) 2006: Mapping Policy Preferences II: Comparing 24 OECD and 24 CEE Countries, 1990-2003, Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Publications link

Parteistrategien auf oligopolistischen Issue-Märkten - Entwicklung der Parteiprogrammatik in West- und Osteuropa
Personen Univ.-Prof. Dr. André Kaiser, Dipl.-Volkswirt Simon Franzmann
Projektbeschreibung In der aktuellen Debatte über den Charakter des Parteienwettbewerbs stehen sich zwei Lager gegenüber. Auf der einen Seite steht die konfrontative Theorie, die in enger Anlehnung an Anthony Downs’ Konzeption der ökonomischen Theorie der Demokratie (1957) von einer eindeutig spezifizierbaren Dimensionalität des politischen Raumes aus¬geht. Auf der anderen Seite steht die Salienztheorie (Budge/Farlie 1983). Sie legt ihren Fokus stärker auf die Bestimmung von Kernthemen einer Partei und deren Präsentation im Wahlkampf. Beide Ansätze haben gemeinsam, daß sie sowohl für ihre theoretische Formulierung als auch ihren empirischen Test die Parteiprogrammatik analysieren müssen. Dazu liegt vom Comparative Manifestos Project (CMP) (Budge et al. 2001) ein umfangreicher Daten¬satz vor, in dem alle Wahlprogramme seit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in den OECD-Staaten nach 56 Kategorien vercodet wurden. Darin sind jedoch einige Widersprüchlichkeiten enthalten, die in einer Re-Analyse durch die Bewilligungsempfänger behoben wurden (Franzmann/Kaiser 2006). Mit diesen re-analysierten Links-Rechts-Werten, die in der Scientific Community innerhalb kurzer Zeit auf ein außerordentlich reges Interesse gestoßen sind, wurde eine höhere externe Validität erzielt als mit den ursprünglichen CMP-Werten.

Für 2006 steht die Fortschreibung des CMP-Datensatzes an (Klingemann et al. 2006). Dieser Datensatz wird nicht nur die Parteiensysteme der OECD-Länder, sondern auch die der mittel- und osteuropäischen Transformationsstaaten umfassen. In diesem laufenden Projekt wird nun der aktualisierte CMP-Datensatz auf Basis der von Franzmann/Kaiser entwickelten Methode re-analysiert und um die mittelosteuropäischen Parteiensysteme ergänzt.

In einem nächsten Schritt werden dann in Anlehnung an die Salienztheorie Kernthemen und programmatische Heterogenität der Parteien eines jeden Landes bestimmt. Schließlich soll in einer Pilotstudie geklärt werden, wie Kernthemen und Heterogenität von der Öffentlichkeit wahrgenommen werden und in die Wahlkampfagenda einfließen. Ziel ist es letztlich, auf einer theoretisch und empirisch breiten Basis langfristig die Prognose von Wahlergebnissen zu verbessern.
Finanzierung Zur Vorbereitung eines Drittmittelantrages erhält das Projekt eine Anschubfinanzierung aus Mitteln des Zentrums für Empirische Sozial- und Wirtschaftsforschung.
Daten
  • Budge, Ian et al.(eds.) 2001: Mapping Policy Preferences. Estimates for Parties, Electors, and Governments 1945-1998, Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Franzmann, Simon/Kaiser, André 2006: Locating Political Parties in Policy Space. A Reanalysis of Party Manifesto Data, Party Politics 12: 163-188.
  • Klingemann, Hans-Dieter et. al (eds.) 2006: Mapping Policy Preferences II: Comparing 24 OECD and 24 CEE Countries, 1990-2003, Oxford: Oxford University Press
Methoden Quantitative Inhaltsanalyse
Veröffentlichungen link