Research and Analysis of Data on the European Union - "READ"
Researcher Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Th. Wessels
Project Description The activities within the framework of "READ" are founded on the basic assumption that the relevance of the European Union (EU) and its policies with regard to research and teachings - especially to empirical economic and social research - has remarkably increased over time. Considerable qualitative and quantitative trends of growth and differentiation within the European context of e.g. European governance or different policy fields such as Common Foreign and Security Policy, the Economic and Monetary Union and Justice and Home Affairs indicate an evolution of the EU forming a centre of gravity.

Systematic research and explanation of the constitutional evolution of the past fifty years representing an increase in the in-depth variety of binding decisions being taken in Brussels requires a comprehensive survey and analysis of data. Thereby, existing approaches need to be seized, deepened and complemented.

EU-institutions themselves have come to offer a complex number of sets of data on legal acts and procedures, which can be used in terms of scientific means. Due to this diversity of sources a considerable methodological effort is required. If repetition in empirical research activities is supposed to be prevented and the results of the own work is meant to be accessible for a certain group of interested researchers an extensive demand for structuring and processing will have to be met. Thus, a so called "Datenpool" - established at the "Zentrum für empirische Wirtschafts- und Sozialforschung" will contribute to facilitating interdisciplinary research and teachings: an accurate research and analysis of the past and current development of the treaties in three steps will be possible:
  1. The evolution of the treaties ("wanted" Constitution),
  2. The texts of the treaties ("written" Constitution) and
  3. The exercise of the treaties ("living" Constitution).
The aims of this analysis can be listed as follows:
  1. Utilisation of the results and findings also with regard to other projects of the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences.
  2. Preparation of the data in order to supply researchers of the ZEWS as well as students writing their final thesis or phd students with the information needed.
  3. Accurate contextual linkage of the data aiming at reassessing and developing further theoretical approaches.


Main focus of "READ"

Funding In order to support the successful application for the SFB the project is receiving start-up financing of the Centre for Empirical Economic and Social Research.
Data CODE - Cologne Database on the European Union (password protected)

Related to a): Data which give information on the European conract law - meaning the "wanted constitution" at European level (documents put forward by the European Convention; documents of Intergovernmental Conferences; national and European documents as well as debates for example on the European financial order; education policy; environmental policy and employment policy).

Related to b): Data on the "written constitution" are mainly documents of primary law such as treaties and other arrangements with comparable character of law. Apart from showing the quantitative evolution of the procedures and their profiles these documents can also bare information on the qualitative changes within competences of the EU.

Related to c): A detailed normative and empirical explanation of the "living constitution" - meaning all aspects of European governance over the years - does not only have to take aspects of political sciences into consideration but those of economic and social sciences as well analysing the output of legal acts, the voting behaviour of different member states in the Council, the co-decision procedure, the participation of the European Parliament, the productivity of the EU-organs and decisions taken by the European Court of Justice. These information need to be quantitatively gathered in order to be evaluated and extrapolated afterwards.
Methods Related to a): Analysis of the contents using programmes of qualitative data analysis (Max qda).

Related to b): Analysis of the contents using programmes of qualitative data analysis (Max qda). The thus gained results can then be evaluated and graphically presented via Microsoft-Excel or SPSS. They serve as a foundation for further evaluations and calculations

Related to c): Databases containing information on the exercise of the treaties - such as EurLex - are relevant in this context. These data of European secondary law will quantitatively be evaluated with the aid of Microsoft-Excel and SPSS in order to be presented in graphics and tables afterwards.

Recherche und Analysen von Daten zur EU - READ
Personen Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Th. Wessels
Projektbeschreibung Die forschungsbegründende Basisannahme der Arbeiten im Rahmen von "READ" lautet: Die Europäische Union (EU) und ihre Politik werden zunehmend zu einem Gravitationszentrum für Forschung und Lehre - dies gilt in steigendem Maße auch für die empirische Wirtschafts- und Sozialforschung. Ausgangspunkt ist die Beobachtung erheblicher quantitativer und qualitativer Wachstums- und Differenzierungstrends im europäischen Kontext - insbesondere im Hinblick auf das europäische Regieren (Governance) in verschiedenen Politikfeldern wie z.B. in der Gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, in der Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion sowie in der Justiz- und Innenpolitik.
Für eine systematische Erfassung und Erklärung der konstitutionellen Entwicklungen über die letzten fünfzig Jahre, in denen verbindliche Entscheidungen aus "Brüssel" an Regelungstiefe und -breite sowie Formenvielfalt zugenommen haben, ist eine umfangreiche Datenerhebung und Auswertung notwendig, die bestehende Ansätze aufgreift, vertieft und ergänzt.
Die EU-Organe selbst bieten mittlerweile eine unübersichtliche Fülle an Datensätzen zu Rechtsakten und Verfahren an, die für wissenschaftliche Zwecke nutzbar gemacht werden können. Dies erfordert jedoch aufgrund der zu konstatierenden Vielfalt der Quellen einen beträchtlichen methodischen Aufwand. Um einer immer wieder anzutreffenden Doppelung empirischer Forschungstätigkeit vorzubeugen und die Ergebnisse eigener Arbeiten einem ausgesuchten Kreis interessierter Forscher zugänglich zu machen, besteht ein erheblicher Strukturierungs- und Aufbereitungsbedarf. Ein umfassender am Zentrum für Empirische Wirtschafts- und Sozialforschung angesiedelter "Datenpool’ soll daher maßgeblich zur Erleichterung interdisziplinärer Forschung und Lehre beitragen: Er wird eine sorgfältige Aufbereitung und Analyse der vergangenen und aktuellen Vertragsentwicklungen in drei Schritten
  1. der Vertragsentwicklung ("gewollten" Verfassung),
  2. des Vertragstextes ("geschriebenen" Verfassung) und
  3. der Vertragspraxis ("gelebten" Verfassung)
rückblickend und zukunftsfähig möglich machen.
Dabei werden die folgenden drei Ziele verfolgt:
  1. Nutzbarmachung der gewonnen Ergebnisse für Projekte der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät
  2. Bereitstellung der Daten für Wissenschaftler des ZEWS und für Magister-, Diplom und Promotionsstudenten
  3. Sorgfältige inhaltliche Verknüpfung der gewonnen Daten zur Überprüfung und Weiterentwicklung theoretischer Ansätze


Arbeitsschwerpunkte von "READ"

Finanzierung Zur unterstützenden Forschungsarbeit für die erfolgreiche Einwerbung des SFB´s erhält das Projekt eine Anschubfinanzierung aus Mitteln des Zentrums für Empirische Sozial- und Wirtschaftsforschung.
Daten CODE - Cologne Database on the European Union (passwortgeschützt)

Zu a): Daten aus denen Erkenntnisse über den Entstehungsprozess europäischen Vertragsrechts gewonnen werden können - also über Prozesse der "gewollten" Verfassung auf europäischer Ebene (Dokumente des Europäischen Konvents; der Regierungskonferenzen; nationale und europäische Dokumente und Debatten etwa zur Finanzordnung, zur (Berufs-)Bildungspolitik, zur Umweltpolitik und zur Beschäftigungspolitik).

Zu b): Daten zur "geschriebenen" Verfassung sind vor allem primärrechtliche Dokumente, wie Vertragstexte und sonstige Vereinbarungen mit einem vergleichbaren Rechtsstatus, die nicht nur Aufschluss über die quantitative Entwicklung der Verfahrensprofile sondern auch über die qualitative Veränderung im Bereich der Zuständigkeiten geben können.

Zu c): Eine detaillierte normative und empirische Erläuterung der "gelebten" Verfassung, d.h. aller Aspekte des europäischen Regierens über die Jahre, muss nicht nur die politikwissenschaftliche sondern auch die wirtschafts- und sozialwissenschaftliche Analyse des Outputs an Rechtsakten in jedem Politikfeld einschließen. Hierzu sind Daten zu Entscheidungen des Rats, Abstimmungsverhalten der einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten im Rat, Anwendung des Mitentscheidungsverfahrens, Partizipation des Europäischen Parlaments, Entscheidungsproduktivität der EU-Organe und Entscheidungen des Europäischen Gerichtshofes zunächst quantitativ zu erfassen und dann auszuwerten und aufzubereiten.
Methoden Zu a): Inhaltsanalyse mit Programmen zur qualitativen Datenanalyse (Max qda).

Zu b): Inhaltsanalyse mit Programmen zur qualitativen Datenanalyse (Max qda). Die so gewonnen Daten können dann mithilfe von Tabellen- und Statistikverarbeitungsprogrammen wie Microsoft-Excel oder SPSS verarbeitet und graphisch dargestellt werden. Sie dienen damit als Grundlage für weitere Einschätzungen und Berechnungen.

Zu c): Datenbanken zur Vertragsnutzung, wie z.B. EurLex, liefern die notwendigen Informationen. Auch die Daten zum Sekundärrecht der EU werden quantitativ mit Mircrosoft-Excel oder SPSS aufbereitet und je nach wissenschaftlichem Bedarf in Graphiken, Tabellen oder Schaubildern dargestellt.